Brits Awards 2009- Our predictions

Standard

Here’s a couple of the nominations at the Brits (will be on air on Feb 18th 2009 in the UK at Earl’s Court). I’ve decided to do a few predictions about who’ll win this year so let’s take a look at it

Best British Male Solo Artist
Ian Brown 
James Morrisson
Paul Weller
The Streets-(Mike Skinner)
Will Young

Personnally I wish the Mod Father Paul Weller will win though if I’m realist in the pop, Fame Academy, X-Factor era we live in right now, I’m sure Will Young or James Morrison are the real contenders in this competition.

British Female Solo Artist
Duffy
Adele
Beth Rowley
Estelle
MIA

I think there’s at least 4 serious contenders  to the title, though my choice go to Adele, a real talented folk-pop singer-songwriter who picked up a  Grammy in the USA as the best female pop vocal performance for her song Chasing Pavements.

Best Breakthrough British Act
Adele
Duffy
Scouting for girls
The Last Shadow Puppets
The Ting Tings

With all the hype around them I’m chosing The Ting Tings

British Group
Coldplay
Elbow
Girls Aloud
Radiohead
Take That

I’m seriously hesitating between my fav band Radiohead and Coldplay who’d offered us a big album last year with Viva La Vida

British Live Act
Coldplay
Iron Maiden
Scouting for Girls
The Verve
Elbow

Usually Muse always won the category but they’re not in this year, so my choice go to Coldplay

British Single
Adele-Chasing Pavements
Alexandra Burke-Hallelujah
Coldplay-Viva la Vida
Dizzee Rascal and Calvin Harris-Dance wiv me
Duffy-Mercy

My personal fav is  Dizzee Rascal though I predict Duffy wins with her soulful Mercy.

Mastercard British Album
Coldplay-Viva la vida or death and all his friends
Duffy-Rockferry
Elbow-The Seldom Seen Kid
Radiohead-In Rainbows
The Ting Tings-We started nothing

I’ll go with Mercury Prize award winning from Elbow, The Seldom Seen Kid

International Album
AC/DC-Black Ice
Fleet Foxes-Fleet Foxes
The Killers-Day and Age
Kings of Leon-Only By the Night
MGMT-Oracular Spectacular

Even if I preferred MGMT back in 2008, I got to say that Killers will win:)

International Male Solo Artist
Beck
Neil Diamond
Jay-Z
Kanye West
Seasick Steve

and the award goes to….Kanye

International Female Solo Artist
Beyonce
Gabriella Cimi
Katy Perry
Pink
Santogold

the possible result is that I kissed a girl, eheh

International Group
AC/DC
The Killers
Kings of Leon
MGMT
Fleet Foxes

Prediction: The Killers again

And two results we already know:

Florence and the Machine won the Critic’s Choice. She had beaten Little Boots and White Lies

and…

Pet Shop Boys won the honorary Outstanding contribution to British Music Awards

Cheers…

Melanie from the London Cafe team

Leave a Reply

